Paganini ripetente / Virtuosi della Scala

04:00 PM
Info tickets
Invitation to La Scala

Paganini ripetente / Virtuosi della Scala

17 February 2025

I Virtuosi del Teatro alla Scala

Staging and LyricsMARIO ACAMPA
IllustrationsGABRIELE PINO


Francesco Geminiani
Concerto Grosso op. 5 n. 12 "La Follia"
for two violins, viola, cello, strings and continuo

Niccolò Paganini
Nel cor più non mi sento
introduction and variations on one theme
from La molinara by Giovanni Paisiello M.S. 44
for violin solo

Georg Friedrich Händel
from Rinaldo
Lascia ch'io pianga
for soprano

Niccolò Paganini
from Concerto No 1 in D major Op. 6
for violin and orchestra M.S. 21
(orchestration Mario Hossen)
Dal tuo stellato soglio
introduction and variations on one string
from one theme from Mosè in Egitto
by Gioachino Rossini M.S. 23
for violin and strings
I palpiti
variations on the theme "Di tanti palpiti"
from Tancredi by Gioachino Rossini Op. 13 M.S. 77
for violin solo and strings
(orchestration Mario Hossen)
from Concerto No 2 in B min.
for violin and orchestra M.S. 48
third movement "La Campanella"
(transcription Rudolf Leopold)

In brief

According to some historians, Paganini never gave encores, not because he was haughty or petulant but because he would often improvise and it was thus impossible to repeat a previous performance that had been a creation of a particular instant. He is still surrounded by legends of his prodigious genius (some conditioned by the currents of nineteenth-century romanticism), including a presumed bargain with the devil so he would become famous and achieve unequalled talent on the violin. Those who had the opportunity to hear him were all too ready to believe…