Edita Gruberova in concert

23 July 2015
Gaetano Donizetti

Teatro alla Scala Chorus and Orchestra 


Conductor Marco Armiliato
Chorus Master Alberto Malazzi
Soprano Edita Gruberova
Basso Giovanni Furlanetto
Soprano  Chiara Isotton*
Tenore Sehoon Moon*
Tenore Azer Rza-Zade*
Basso  Petro Ostapenko*



Gaetano Donizetti "The three Queens"

Ouvertures and Finales from
Maria Stuarda
Anna Bolena
Roberto Devereux


from Maria Stuarda

1. Ouverture

2. Scene and duet n. 8 (Maria and Talbot) 

"La Perfida"

3. Last Scene n. 9

"Vedeste? (Coro)" 

"Di un cor che muore"

"Giunge il Conte"

"Ah! Se un giorno"


from Anna Bolena

1. Ouverutre

2. Scene n. 11

"Chi può vederla? (Coro)"

3. Scene n. 12

"Piangete voi?"

4. Scene n. 13

"Qual mesto suon?..."

5. Last scene



da Roberto Devereux

1. Ouverture

2. Scene n. 6 

"E Sara in questi orribili momenti"

3. Scene n. 7 

"Che m'apporti"

4. Last Scene

"Egli è spento!"


 *Soloists of the Teatro alla Scala Academy


Notes on performances

A queen of bel canto for three British queens and three royal beheadings. The first, the Catholic and much-discussed Mary Stuart, ex-wife of the King of France and Queen of Scotland, was imprisoned for twenty years and finally executed by her cousin, Elizabeth I. Donizetti gave the title “Aria del supplizio” (the Torture Aria) to her noble finale, in which everyone is forgiven. Then Anna Boleyn, the second wife of Henry VIII, is sent to the gallows because the king wished to take another wife. And lastly, Elizabeth I, the daughter of the couple, who, riven by conflicting feelings, has to send her lover to the executioner, his pardon arriving only after the sentence has been carried out. Proud and sometimes disdainful women, they are powerful and fraught by doubts, passions and affairs of state. Donizetti’s melodrama has animated their voices with vehement warbling and the astral perfection of Edita Gruberova has often raised the extreme moments of those tragic destinies, reunited here, to white hot.